Apple expands App Store, Apple Music, iCloud and other services to new countries

Apple is launching its services: App Store, Apple Podcasts and Apple Arcade in 20 new countries. In addition, Apple Music is expanding to 52 new countries. The expansion means that the App Store, in particular, is now available in a total of 175 countries whereas Apple Music has reached 167 markets. In comparison, music streaming service giant Spotify is available in fewer than 100 nations.

The App Store, Apple Arcade, Apple Music, Apple Podcasts and iCloud are now available in:

  • Africa: Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Libya, Morocco, Rwanda, and Zambia.
  • Asia-Pacific: Maldives and Myanmar.
  • Europe: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Kosovo, Montenegro, and Serbia.
  • Middle East: Afghanistan (excluding Apple Music) and Iraq.
  • Oceania: Nauru (excluding Apple Music), Tonga, and Vanuatu.

Apple said Music streaming service includes locally curated playlists including African Now, Afrobeats Hits as Ghana bounce in new markets. As an introductory offer, it is offering a six-month free trial on Music in newly launched markets.

We're delighted to bring many of Apple's most beloved Services to users in more countries than ever before, Oliver Schusser, Apple's vice president of Apple Music and International Content, said in a release.

The availability of the aforementioned services in dozens of new markets should help Apple further grow sales in its services segment, which already clocks more revenue than the Mac, iPad, and wearables and accessories. Apple CEO Tim Cook also boasted that its services division had set an all-time revenue record for the company, following the launch of Apple TV Plus and Apple Arcade late last year.

Previous Post Next Post